The Seasons in Review Series (1/4): What I Read and Blogged About This Winter (Dec, Jan, Febr) πŸ‚

It’s the last day of February which means it is time for reflection: Being a slow reader means that you can’t really write monthly or even weekly wrap ups. There isn’t much to show. So, instead I decided to start writing reviews for the different seasons on a quarterly basis – starting today! Welcome everyone to “The Seasons in Review Series”! πŸ‘‹πŸΌπŸ‘‹πŸΌ This post focuses on the months of December (2023), January and February of 2024. β˜ƒοΈ I will show you all the books I read in the first half of the post, and then make some room for all the blog posts I wrote during these months. This way you have all of it in one place. Happy reading!

The Season at a glance

This winter season brought me out of one of the biggest reading slumps ever and it also got me back to blogging. In November I attended Kerstin Gier’s book signing event (which is also linked here and down below) which might have been the catalyst for all of this. After this, I was really inspired by the bookish community again and I was motivated to pick up books that have been sitting on my shelves for some time. During 2022 and 2023 I really lost sight of reading – something I thought to be impossible as an avid reader. In December 2023 though, I started to regularly read again and actually set a time during the evening to do so. It helped me create some kind of new/old routine and reduce my screen time. Thanks to the fantasy books and authors I read I was hooked to do so again. πŸ™πŸΌ

I blame my time of not reading and blogging hiatus on academia. It’s just that when you already have to read so much for work or uni you often times don’t really make the time to read for yourself. πŸ₯± This probably applies to other hobbies as well. I recently watched a YT video on this topic by @linh truong that sums it up pretty well: https://youtu.be/I31A1fpQ1DU?si=SRL0OnlZTySmU0PV.

All in all, I am very pleased with the last couple of months bookishwise. I read at my own pace, posted on my blog once every ~10-14 days which for me is as realistic as it can be. And, just as importantly, I also made time to get to know other book blogs as well and to engage with the community. Just as already: It’s good to be back. πŸ’™

Reading Accomplishments

Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Sorcery of Thorns was everything I want in a solid, enjoyable and gripping fantasy standalone. If you are curious about my thoughts, I will leave the review link here and otherwise keep it short: Elizabeth, Nathaniel and Silas were amazing characters to follow and Margaret Rogerson really accomplished to create a fantasy world and involving story that is all about the love for books in less than 500 pages. The novella is still on my to-read list.


The Invisible Life of Addie La Rue by V.E.Schwab

Rating: 5 out of 5.

The Invisble Life of Addie La Rue is a book I didn’t start to read in 2024 but wayyy earlier. Actually, I started to read it about three years ago (no, I’m not kidding, I wish I was) but only got to finish it this year in January. The funny thing is: Only about 150 pages were left for me to read – and yet – I couldn’t bring myself to do it and I have no real explanation for it. It’s probably the book with the slowest pacing I have ever read and still it’s also one of the most beautifully written ones. I liked Addie as a protagonist so much and the overall concept and atmosphere of the book was just amazing to me. Now, I HAVE TO read more of V.E. Schwab’s books because I really enjoyed her writing style. I didn’t prepare a blog review for this one, simply because I started it a long time ago and I think I wouldn’t be able to do it justice if I were to write a review now. But I can highly recommend the review written by V @TheSassyFox.


The Atlas Six by Olivie Blake

Rating: 3 out of 5.

The Atlas Six was my first read of the year. To tell the truth: It’s the first one I finished this year as I had started reading it in December but unfortunately, it dragged on a bit. I wrote a full review on this one too, which you can read here but to keep it short: I had high expectations of The Atlas Six (being so hyped and marketed as THE dark academia book) that, unfortunately, weren’t met. I think it had a lot of potential but was rather “okayish”. This, in turn, lead to me not being sure whether to continue on with the series. It’s certainly one I wouldn’t re-read because of how slow-paced it is.


Lockwood & Co. #1, #2, #3, #4 and #5 by Jonathan Stroud

Rating: 5 out of 5.

If you have read my recent blog posts you already know that it was one of my goals for the first half of the year to read the Lockwood & Co. series by Jonathan Stroud. I have mentioned the series several times already, close to having it in every blog post. If you are new to my blog is here some short context: I stumbled upon the book series thanks to the phenomenal (but unfortunately cancelled) Netflix show and wanted to know more about the story and characters so I picked up the books. Surprisingly, I actualled sticked to it and read Lockwood & Co. #1 in December, book #2 and #3 in January and then book #4 and #5 in February.

It has been an amazing journey and it’s safe to say that the series has become one of my all-time-favourites. I love all the elements of the story and the characters and while I enjoyed some installments of the series more than the others there is no way I can give it less than five stars overall. Totally recommend it if you are looking for an original ya/middle grade fantasy series that is wholesome regarding its teen characters but also dark, mysterious and cleverly made in its story, I can see myself coming back to it and if ever get the chance to meet Jonathan Stroud as an author too as part of an event I will definitely pack my bags and go.


Noragami by Adachitoka, Volume 19.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Noragami is a manga series that released its first volume in 2010 following an unknown god named Yato trying to make a name for himself. It is inspired by Japanese mythology and is a multi-genre story with it being very serious and action-packed at times but then again completely hilarious and random. The manga got adapted into an anime and two seasons were released (I remember it being quite popular too). I loved both, the anime was so entertaining to watch and I was way too invested with the characters. For all found-family trope lovers this is exactly your cup of tea!

But as common with decent adaptations the anime got cancelled.

About this I was so upset that I picked up the manga because I HAD TO KNOW what happens with our main character trio Yato, Hiyori and Yukine. So from Vol. 10 on I read the manga – on and off. Currently, I am trying to catch up again. Vol. 19 was a decent read but I have to confess that I kind of forgot a lot that happened in the previous volumes which means I will have to read a summary about it. I loved the end caps of Vol. 19 and the cover art is absolutely amazing! The following volumes are already waiting on my shelf.

What was new on the blog?

1. Book Reviews

2. Book Tags

3. Other Posts

In case you want to stay up-to-date with my current reads and progress on my bookish goals please feel free to send me a friend request on GoodReads! I’d love to see you there.


How was the winter season for you regarding your bookish goals? Did you get to read a lot? What was your favourite read of the season? Feel free to let me know!


3 thoughts on “The Seasons in Review Series (1/4): What I Read and Blogged About This Winter (Dec, Jan, Febr) πŸ‚

Leave a comment